Member login

Landmark Trust properties open days

Culloden Tower, Richmond & The Ruin, Hackfall

The Ruin, Hackfall

Culloden Tower in the Temple Grounds, Richmond

10.00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m. on 12th and 13th August

Built in 1746 to celebrate the defeat of Bonnie Prince Charlie at the battle of Culloden, it served as an “eye-catcher” and affords stunning views across to Richmond. The two main rooms at the top of the tower contain a rich mix of Gothic and Classical carving and plasterwork. Further details are available here:

The Tower is opening as part of Richmond’s GeorgFest 2017 which runs from 12th to 26th August and has a number of other events which may interest members including:

  • a tour of Temple Grounds led by Val Hepworth on 15th August, which will be of particular interest to those who missed the Midsummer Picnic in 2015 (full report in Newsletter No. 39).
  • the opening of Mr Yorke’s Walled Garden (owned by YGT members Dennis and Marcia McLuckie) on 13th August.
  • a talk by the Landmark Trust’s Caroline Stanford entitled, “Political Meaning or Pure Folly? Culloden Tower and Other Georgian Landmarks” on 16th August.

Details of all these events can be found here: or please contact Nigel Tooze for a brochure (email: nigel2z [at]

The Ruin at Hackfall, Grewelthorpe

10.00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m. on 9th and 10 September

The Landmark Trust in association with Heritage Open Days. This little banqueting house is perched dramatically above a steep wooded gorge with far reaching views across the Vale of Mowbray. It is one of a number of listed follies in the landscape conceived and created by the Aislabies between 1749 and 1767, and restored by The Woodland Trust and theHackfall Trust. Further details can be found here:

Registered charity No.1060697
Company registration No.03256311
President: The Countess of Harewood
Registered Office: 31 St Saviourgate,
York, YO1 8NQ

secretary [at]